T20 World Cup: Adam Zampa Tests Covid Positive Ahead Of Australia Vs Sri Lanka Clash

T20 World Cup: Adam Zampa Tests Covid Positive Ahead Of Australia Vs Sri Lanka Clash

Australia will be playing against Sri Lanka in a must-win game but just ahead of the important clash, they suffered a huge blow when their wrist spinner Adam Zampa tested Covid positive. Zampa’s symptoms are not severe, according to the Daily Telegraph. As per the latest change in ICC rules, players can step on the field even after recording a positive test.

Earlier, Tahlia McGrath, an Australian women’s all-rounder stepped on the field in the Commonwealth Games final as she was found Covid-positive before the match.  On Sunday, Ireland all-rounder George Dockrell played against Sri Lanka in Hobart, despite being positive for Covid.  If Zampa was to be selected, he and Cricket Australia would need to operate under the same guidelines. Defending champions Australia started their ICC T20 World Cup 2022 campaign with an 89-run loss to New Zealand, their first defeat at home to their arch-rivals since February 2009 in white-ball cricket.

Kiwis had last won a white-ball game, a One Day International (ODI) against Australia during Chappell Hadlee Trophy in February 2009. They had to wait for more than 13 years to register their next win against the Aussies in white-ball cricket in Australia. “A team spokesperson confirmed Zampa recently returned a positive test but is only displaying minor symptoms. It puts him in considerable doubt for Tuesday evening’s match at Perth Stadium, though the team insists he remains available for selection”, as per the  cricket.com.au

Their loss of 89-runs is their biggest loss by runs in T20 World Cup history. Their previous record was a 74-run loss to West Indies in the 2012 edition of the tournament. The biggest loss in ICC T20 World Cup history is Kenya’s 172-run loss to Sri Lanka in the inaugural T20 WC back in 2007.   Australia squad: Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Aaron Finch (c), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.   (With agency Inputs)

Also Read  Nicholas Pooran Steps Down As T20 And ODI Captain Of West Indies