Rahul Gandhi-Led Bharat Jodo Yatra Begins 19-Day Kerala Leg Today

Rahul Gandhi-Led Bharat Jodo Yatra Begins 19-Day Kerala Leg Today

Four days after Congress leader Rahul Gandhi along with party leaders and workers commenced Bharat Jodo Yatra in Kanyakumari, the rally has commenced its 19-day long Kerala leg Sunday morning from Parassala in Thiruvananthapuram. 

Rahul Gandhi started the yatra after being formally welcomed by Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) president and MP K Sudhakaran, Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the state assembly VD Satheesan, and AICC general secretary Tariq Anwar and other senior Congress leaders.

The other senior party leaders who welcomed the former party chief included Congress MPs K C Venugopal and Shashi Tharoor as well as former Kerala chief minister Oommen Chandy and ex-LoP Ramesh Chennithala.

A huge crowd of supporters and onlookers gathered to welcome the Gandhi scion.

“Our Bharat Jodo Yatra in Kerala. The diversity of India is so apparent. Yesterday we entered Malayalam speaking Kerala from Tamil speaking Tamil Nadu. From “Vannakam” to “Namaskaram”. #BharatJodoYatra #TodoNahinJodo @INCIndia @Jairam_Ramesh @RahulGandhi,” senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh, the national coordinator of the yatra, tweeted.

“Gain freedom through education, gain strength through organization, gain prosperity through industry. Today, as we enter the beautiful state of Kerala, on the auspicious occasion of Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti, his words inspire every step we take on the #BharatJodoYatra,” Gandhi had tweeted as the yatra entered Kerala Saturday evening.

After entering Kerala from Parassala close to the Tamil Nadu border, Gandhi would travel 450 km to Nilambur in Malappuram over a 19-day period. The yatra will enter the Kollam district on September 14. It will reach Alappuzha on September 17 and pass through Ernakulam district on September 21 and 22 and reach Thrissur on September 23. The Congress yatra will pass through Palakkad on September 26 and 27 and enter Malappuram on September 28.

Also Read  'PM Modi Has Given 1,000 Sq Kms Of Territory To China Without A Fight': Congress On Ladakh Border Row

The yatra will cover 12 states and two Union territories, and a distance of 3,750 km from Kanyakumari in Tamil Nadu to Jammu and Kashmir over a period of 150 days. There will be mega rallies in 22 major cities.

(With PTI inputs)