MCD Polls: Kejriwal, Harbhajan Singh, Bhagwant Mann Among 30 Leaders In AAP’s List Of Star Campaigners

MCD Polls: Kejriwal, Harbhajan Singh, Bhagwant Mann Among 30 Leaders In AAP’s List Of Star Campaigners

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) announced a list of star campaigners for the upcoming Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) elections on Friday. The party has named Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, MLA Rajendra Pal Gautam, who recently resigned as minister amid a row over attending a religious conversion event, and former cricketer and Rajya Sabha member Harbhajan Singh as its star campaigners, according to the list posted on the party’s official Twitter handle.

आगामी MCD चुनाव के लिए पार्टी ने 30 लोगों को STAR प्रचारक नियुक्त किया है।सभी स्टार प्रचारक Delhi के कोने-कोने में जाकर, दिल्ली को कूड़ा-BJP मुक्त बनाने के लिए AAP के पक्ष में प्रचार करेंगे।

— AAP (@AamAadmiParty) November 11, 2022 The 250-ward MCD goes to the polls on December 4, and the votes will be counted on December 7.

Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann, Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, and Rajya Sabha members Sanjay Singh, Raghav Chadha, and ND Gupta are also on the list of 30.

A celebrity campaigner’s electioneering expenditures are not included in the candidate’s poll expenses. These expenditures are borne by respective parties, according to election legislation, news agency PTI reported. 

Ministers from the Delhi and Punjab cabinets, including Kailash Gahlot, Gopal Rai, Imran Hussain, and the newly inducted Raaj Kumar Anand, are also on the Aam Aadmi Party’s list of star campaigners.

Durgesh Pathak, Vishesh Ravi, Atishi, Saurabh Bhardwaj, and ministers are also on the list.

The BJP accused the AAP of taking an “anti-Hindu” stance by including MLA Rajendra Pal Gautam, who recently resigned as a minister over a row over attending a religious conversion event here, in its list of star campaigners for the MCD polls, PTI reported. 

Also Read  Aftab Has Never Confessed In Court Of Law He Killed Shraddha, Says His Lawyer

ALSO READ: Delhi Court Reserves Order On Bail Plea Of Satyendar Jain, Others In Money Laundering Case

Gautam resigned from Arvind Kejriwal’s ministry last month after courting controversy by attending a religious conversion event in which Hindu deities were reportedly disrespected.

“Arvind Kejriwal has been exposed… he is anti-Hindu since Gautam, who attacked Hindu deities, has been designated an AAP star campaigner for the MCD polls,” BJP MP Manoj Tiwari was quoted as saying by PTI. 

Delhi BJP leader Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga said Gautam’s nomination as star campaigner exposes the “anti-Hindu face” of the chief minister and the AAP, PTI reported. 

Earlier today, Arvind Kejriwal unveiled his party’s manifesto, dubbed “Kejriwal ki 10 guarantee,” in which the AAP president pledged to clear the city’s garbage mountains and rid the MCD of corruption.

MCD में @ArvindKejriwal की 10 Guarantee1️⃣कूड़े के पहाड़ ख़त्म,साफ़ Delhi2️⃣वसूली बंद3️⃣Parking समस्या ख़त्म4️⃣आवारा जानवरों का समाधान5️⃣बेहतर सड़कें-गलियां6️⃣शिक्षा-स्वास्थ्य7️⃣सुंदर Parks8️⃣समय पर वेतन9️⃣व्यापारियों को समस्याओं से मुक्ति🔟Vending Zone#KejriwalKiMCDGuarantee

— Naresh Balyan (@AAPNareshBalyan) November 11, 2022  According to AAP’s Delhi unit convenor Gopal Rai, the inauguration of a “war room” on Thursday will assist them in executing the nomination process, social media campaigns, and other necessary administrative tasks for the elections.

AAP ने MCD चुनाव के लिए War Room स्थापित किया है।यहां से चुनावी गतिविधियों की Monitoring की जाएगी।BJP ने संकल्प पत्र जारी कियालेकिन उन्होंने MCD में 15 साल के राज में किया एक भी काम नहीं बताया।गृह मंत्री Amit Shah भी Rally में एक भी काम नहीं गिना सके थे।- @AapKaGopalRai

Also Read  Delhi MCD Polls 2022: Model Town Assembly Constituency Wards After Delimitation — Check Details

— AAP (@AamAadmiParty) November 10, 2022

The BJP has held control of the MCD, which was divided into north, south, and east corporations in 2012 and then reunified this year, for three consecutive terms. The civic elections are often viewed as a three-way fight between the BJP, the AAP, and Congress.