Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh & Irfan Pathan Named As Captains In Legends League Cricket

Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh & Irfan Pathan Named As Captains In Legends League Cricket

New Delhi: Legends League Cricket is a Global League with ex-Cricketers playing competitive cricket. In the 2022 edition, there are four franchise partners which include Adani Sportsline, Gar Sports, Manipal education and Healthcare group, and the latest franchise partner LNJ Bhilwara group. The four teams which will be competing against each other in the latest edition of the league are India Capitals, Manipal Tigers, Bhilwara kings, and Gujrat Giants.

The remaining two teams’ captains were announced for the Legends League Cricket franchise teams on Friday, completing their captain roster. Harbhajan Singh, a part of the team that won the 50-over World Cup in 2011, will bowl for the Manipal Group-owned Manipal Tigers, while Irfan Pathan, a former all-rounder for India, will manage the Bhilwara Kings club owned by the LNJ Bhilwara Group.

Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir have both also been selected as the newest skippers of the two new teams in Legend League Cricket (LLC) on Thursday. Gambhir will be in command of the India Capitals, while Sehwag will captain the Gujarat Giants.

“I am excited to get back to the cricket ground again,” Sehwag said. “I have personally always believed in playing fearless cricket and will continue to propagate the same brand of cricket here too. We are extremely excited and eagerly waiting for the draft to pick our team.”

Gautam Gambhir said “I have always believed cricket is a team game and a captain is as good as his team. While I will be leading the India Capitals team, I will be pushing for a spirited team who are passionate and eager to go out and win as a team.”

Also Read  James Webb Space Telescope Captures Its First Images Of Mars. Know What They Mean

Harbhajan stated: “Playing alongside all great players over the years, I have picked the nuances of the game which has made me a better cricketer. I love leading from the front and I hope I can do justice to the responsibility and faith shown to me.”

Irfan Pathan said, “You need to enjoy what you are doing, and giving 100% to that effort is all that matters. This opportunity is unique but I am confident we as a team will make some heads turn.”

The forthcoming edition of LLC features four teams that will compete in 16 games, games will be hosted in Lucknow, New Delhi, Cuttack, and Jodhpur after the opening ceremony on September 16 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata to 8 October 2022. The venue for play-offs and finals are yet to be decided. The draft for the teams is currently going on.