Gujarat Assembly Polls: In Election Manifesto, Congress Promises To Rename Narendra Modi Stadium

Gujarat Assembly Polls: In Election Manifesto, Congress Promises To Rename Narendra Modi Stadium

New Delhi: Releasing the election manifesto ahead of the Gujarat Assembly polls, Congress on Saturday promised to rename Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad to Sardar Patel Stadium, if it comes to power in the state.

Senior party leader and Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot said Congress will adopt the election manifesto as its official document in the first Cabinet meeting, if the party forms the government.

Apart from renaming the stadium, the grand old party has also promised to include waiving the farmers’ loan up to Rs 3 lakh and implementing the Old Pension Scheme (OPS).

“This manifesto will become the government’s document in the first cabinet if our government is formed,” news agency ANI quoted Gehlot as saying.

“As Rahul Gandhi told us that people should be asked what should be there in the manifesto, they have been asked and over six lakhs people have come forward for this,” Gehlot added.

The Rajasthan CM further said that the party has prepared this manifesto as per the people’s choice rather than the panel that used to be formed for the work.

The party also promised that 3,000 English-medium schools will be opened by the government, and the girls in Gujarat will be provided free education until their post-graduation.

It is to be noted that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday released the second list of six candidates for the upcoming state polls. In the second list, the saffron party has given tickets to two women.

Also Read  Sonia Gandhi To Join Bharat Jodo Yatra On Oct 6 In Karnataka: Report

It has fielded Mahendrabhai Padaliya from Dhoraji, Mulubhai Bera from Khambhalia, Dheliben Maldebhai Odedara from Kutiyana, Sejal Rajiv Kumar Pandya from Bhavnagar East, Hitesh Devji Vasava from Dediapada (ST) and Sandeep Desai from Choryasi.

Assembly elections will be held in Gujarat in two phases, on December 1 and 5 and the votes will be counted on December 8.