Congress Working Committee Meet Today To Finalise Final Schedule For Party President Poll

Congress Working Committee Meet Today To Finalise Final Schedule For Party President Poll

New Delhi: Congress Working Committee (CWC), the party’s apex decision-making body, is scheduled for a virtual meeting today at 3:30 pm to chalk out the schedule for the election of next party president. The meeting just days after the shock resignation of former Union minister and party veteran Ghulam Nabi Azad on Friday and his letter to party president Sonia Gandhi in which he lashed out at Rahul Gandhi for “demolishing the party’s entire consultative mechanism”. 

As per a report by the news agency PTI, citing sources, besides giving approval to the polls schedule, the members of the CWC, the party’s highest decision-making body, could also express confidence in the leadership provided by Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi.  

This would be significant in the context of Azad’s resignation and criticism of the leadership.

The Congress, dealing with the fallout of a series of high profile exits, including that of Kapil Sibal and Ashwani Kumar, attempted to deflect the latest blow by alleging that Azad’s DNA had been “Modi-fied” and linking his resignation to the end of his Rajya Sabha tenure.

Ahead of the CWC meeting which will be presided over by party interim president Sonia Gandhi, the news agency citing sources reported that the process of the election of the president will be delayed by a few weeks, not more than that, and that the party should have a full-time president in October. 

Last year in October, the party had announced that it will hold elections for new party president between August 21 and September 20 this year. 

Also Read  Mumbai: 345 Kg Heroin Soaked In Licorice Roots Worth Rs 1,725 Crore Seized From Nhava Sheva Port

The CWC had decided that elections for block committees and one member each of state Congress units will be held from April 16 to May 31, district committee chiefs will be elected between June 1 and July 20, state chiefs and AICC members between July 21 and August 20, and AICC president between August 21 and September 20.