Axar Patel Replaces Ravindra Jadeja In India's Asia Cup Squad

Axar Patel Replaces Ravindra Jadeja In India's Asia Cup Squad

Ravindra Jadeja ruled out of Asia Cup 2022: In what comes as a huge setback for the Men in Blue, star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of Asia Cup 2022 after sustaining a right knee injury and is currently under BCCI medical team’s supervision. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday took to Twitter to announce that the senior selection has named Axar Patel as Jadeja’s replacement for the tournament. Patel was initially named among the standbys in Indian team for Asia Cup. He will soon join the national team in Dubai. Team India are slated to play the winner of Pakistan vs Hong Kong Asia Cup 2022 match on September 4 in Dubai. It will be India’s opening Super 4 match in the tournament. 

Jadeja getting ruled out of Asia Cup 2022 is a big setback for team India as the all-rounder was one in great form. Jadeja played a match-winning 35-run knock against Pakistan, also the top-scorer for his team in the match. In India’s match against Hong Kong, he did not get a chance to bat but took a wicket for 15 runs in his 4 overs spell.

NEWS – Axar Patel replaces injured Ravindra Jadeja in Asia Cup squad.More details here – #AsiaCup2022

— BCCI (@BCCI) September 2, 2022

A senior in-form all-rounder like Ravindra Jadeja getting injured is also a big setback for India from the perspective of T20 World Cup 2022 to be held in Australia, later this year as a few days after the Asia Cup 2022 gets over, BCCI will most likely announce the Indian squad for T20 World Cup. BCCI is yet to confirm how serious Jadeja’s injury is and for how long he won’t be able to play for national team.

Also Read  Can’t Micro-Manage BCCI Functioning, Says SC; To Pass Order On Tenure Of Office Bearers

India’s squad for Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan