Messi is now one Ballon d’Or win ahead of Cristiano RonaldoBarcelona forward Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or award for the world’s best player for a record sixth time.It is the 32-year-old Argentine’s first Ballon d’Or since 2015 and comes after he scored 54 times for club and country in 2018-19, in which Barca…

Lionel Messi

Messi is now one Ballon d’Or spend earlier than Cristiano Ronaldo

Barcelona ahead Lionel Messi has obtained the Ballon d’Or award for the enviornment’s most interesting player for a file sixth time.

It is the 32-year-broken-down Argentine’s first Ballon d’Or since 2015 and is derived after he scored 54 times for membership and country in 2018-19, in which Barca obtained La Liga.

Virgil van Dijk was second – one amongst 4 Liverpool gamers within the pinnacle seven, including Sadio Mane in fourth.

Juventus and Portugal ahead Cristiano Ronaldo, who has obtained the award 5 times, was third within the balloting.

England defender Lucy Bronze was beaten to the girls’s award, ending second behind Megan Rapinoe, who was Golden Ball winner as USA claimed a second successive World Cup in 2019.

Liverpool keeper Alisson obtained the inaugural Yashin Trophy for most interesting goalkeeper, earlier than Barcelona’s Germany international Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Brazilian compatriot Ederson of Manchester City.

Defender Matthijs de Ligt took the Kopa Trophy, awarded to the most interesting below-21 player and selected by broken-down Ballon d’Or winners.

The 20-year-broken-down, who joined Juventus this summer after helping Ajax reach the semi-finals of remaining season’s Champions League, beat Borussia Dortmund and England ahead Jadon Sancho to the award.

Messi’s spend system the Ballon d’Or award has been obtained by a player from Spain’s La Liga in each of the remaining 11 years, including remaining year’s winner Luka Modric, who broke the 10-year Messi-Ronaldo monopoly on the prize.

“This day is my sixth Ballon d’Or. It be a really different second, lived with my family and my younger folks,” Messi said.

“As my partner said, you desire to never stay dreaming but for all time work to toughen and continue to win pleasure from. I am very lucky, I am blessed.

“I hope to continue for a really lengthy time. I realise that I am very lucky, even though, in some unspecified time in the future, retirement will ring. This would well be sophisticated.

“But I still admire stunning years earlier than me. Time goes very rapidly, so I wish to win pleasure from football and my family.”

The Argentine ahead just currently notched up 700 appearances for Barca, in which length he has scored a stunning 614 dreams whereas pleasant 34 trophies, including 10 La Liga and four Champions League titles, and a host of alternative data and awards.

Messi’s important trophy haul
Trophy Years
La Liga (10) 2004-05, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13, 2014-15,2015-16, 2017-18, 2018-19
Copa del Rey (6) 2008-09, 2011-12, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18
Champions League (4) 2005-06, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2014-15
Ballon d’Or (6) 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019

His amazing shows for Barcelona enabled him to retain off the difficulty of Champions League winner Van Dijk, who was aiming to turn into the first defender to spend the award since Italy’s Fabio Cannavaro in 2006.

“It was an helpful year, but there’s a pair of gamers esteem that who are a chunk unnatural,” Van Dijk said of Messi and Ronaldo. “So it is crucial to admire greatness as wisely.

“I was shut, but there was correct any individual a small bit bit better.

“I am very contented with what I completed remaining year with Liverpool and Holland, and hopefully we are capable of attain that again this year. But that will be sophisticated with these guys around here still.

“I never idea that I would be up for a Ballon d’Or till I was of path nominated. It reveals loads about how my profession has been. My profession has been different from the winner here, I got here slack, but I never gave up on my dreams.

“I needed to work laborious each step of the come, so to be here makes me very proud. And I wish to work laborious and be here again subsequent year.”

The beefy checklist

1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

2. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands)

3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

4. Sadio Mane (Liverpool and Senegal)

5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

6. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain and France)

7. Alisson (Liverpool and Brazil)

8. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)

9. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City and Portugal)

10. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City and Algeria)

11. Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona and Netherlands)

12. Raheem Qualified (Manchester City and England)

13. Eden Hazard (Right Madrid and Belgium)

14. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)

15. Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus and Netherlands)

16. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City and Argentina)

17. Roberto Firmino (Liverpool and Brazil)

18. Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona and France)

19. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool and England)

20= Dusan Tadic (Ajax and Serbia)

20= Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal and Gabon)

22. Son Heung-min (Tottenham and South Korea)

23. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham and France)

24= Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli and Senegal)

24= Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona and Germany)

28= Donny van de Beek (Ajax and Netherlands)

28= Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid and Portugal)

28= Marquinhos (Paris St-Germain and Brazil)

What is the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or has been awarded by France Soccer each year since 1956, with England’s Stanley Matthews the first winner.

It was correct for European gamers till 1995, when it expanded to turn into initiating for any player at a European membership. From 2007 it unfolded to the rest of the enviornment.

The 30-man checklist of nominees is compiled by the editorial staff of the French magazine, with the winner voted for by journalists from all over the enviornment, with one advisor per nation.

From 2010 to 2015 it merged with Fifa’s awards, but they split and the enviornment governing physique space up its own awards again in 2016.

Ballon d’Or: Ronaldo & Messi dominate since 2008
Winner Runner-up Third station
2007 Kaka Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Fernando Torres
2009 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2010 Lionel Messi Andres Iniesta Xavi
2011 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2012 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Andres Iniesta
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Franck Ribery
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer
2015 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Antoine Griezmann
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Neymar
2018 Luka Modric Cristiano Ronaldo Antoine Griezmann
2019 Lionel Messi Virgil van Dijk Cristiano Ronaldo

Share this:

About the author

NewsRoom Paperdabba