Karnataka by-election win boosts Cong-JD(S) combine

Written by PaperDabba

By winning two Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats in the Karnataka by-elections, the Congress-JD(S) coalition has consolidated its position in the run-up to the 2019 general elections.

the coalition won the Mandya and Ballari Lok Sabha seats comfortably along with the Jamakhandi and Ramanagaram assembly seats. The BJP could only retain the Shivamogga Lok Sabha seat with a reduced majority.

Ballari surprise

In Ballari, VS Ugrappa of the Congress trounced J Shanta of the BJP with a margin of 243,271 votes. LR Shivarame Gowda of the JDS won the Mandya seat by securing 553,374 votes. Siddaramaiah of the BJP polled 244,377 votes.

In the Shivamogga Lok Sabha seat, which was evenly contested till the last round of counting, BY Raghavendra of the BJP emerged victorious with by a margin of 52,148 votes. He defeated Madhu Bangarappa of the JD(S).

In the Assembly by-elections, Anand Siddu Nyamagouda of the Congress won the Jamkhandi assembly seat, defeating BJP candidate Srikant Kulkarni by a margin of 39,480 votes.

CM’s wife wins

In the Ramanagaram Assembly seat, Anitha Kumaraswamy, the wife of Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, defeated BJP candidate L Chandrashekhar.

Political analysts say the results are being seen not just as an indicator of people’s mood ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, but also as something that may have a bearing on the stability of the Congress-JD(S) coalition.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.